For Goodness Sake, Don’t Mention Cake!

Oddly enough, it sounds like a line from a Dr. Suess book.  But unfortunately, or fortunately, depending on how you look at it, I DID mention cake today.

2015-03-20 19.29.39It started innocently enough.  I took my little shopping buddy with me to the party supply store, to get some things for my stepdaughter’s birthday party later this week.  We had fun looking at the colorful decorations, admired the hats and the costumes, and checked out the balloons and stuffed animals.

My stepdaughter asked for a St. Patrick’s Day birthday party.  Her birthday is only a few days after that holiday, so I thought it would be pretty easy to find decorations for that kind of party.  The challenge though is finding stuff that does not have to do with drinking yourself into a coma.  I have no problems with a little celebratory Irish beverage (my family has a lot of Irish ancestors), but this year my wild St. Patricks’s Day consisted of wearing my shamrock t-shirt to Hy-Vee while buying groceries with this guy.  Woo-hoo!  And drunken green beer fest is not the angle I was going for in a 12-year-old’s party.

So, as we discussed birthdays and wandered around the store, I casually mentioned that I was going to make a cake for the party.  “Cake! Make cake!” he demanded.  “Yes,” I said, “we will make cake on Friday”  I thought that would be the end of it, but he kept mentioning it every once in a while in the car on the way home.  When we pulled into the driveway, he was already calling for cake.  Upon entering the kitchen, he began chanting, “Make cake, make cake!”  I tried to explain to him that I could not instantly produce cake, but he wasn’t buying it.  As tears ensued, I did what any smart mother would do.

I turned to Pinterest.

I found a quick recipe for cake in a mug.  Not instant, but close to it.  Blake got to help me make cake, which he loved.

IMG_2376I found a great recipe on Spicy Treats.  Here is the link if you want to try it.  To make the cake, we needed:

  1. All Purpose Flour    4 tbsp
  2. Sugar     3 tbsp
  3. Cocoa Powder    2 tbsp
  4. Baking Soda  1/4 tsp
  5. Milk       3 tbsp  (I used skim, but it doesn’t matter)
  6. Oil        2-3 tbsp
  7. Vanilla Extract    1/4 tsp (I never measure vanilla extract, I just put a swish of my homemade vanilla extract in)
  8. Chocolate Chips   1 tsp ( I put a good amount in there, probably more than 1 tsp)

Blake helped me dump in all the ingredients, and then we stirred.

IMG_2380

This is what it looked like in the mug.  Sorry for my bad kitchen lighting.

IMG_2381

Next, it went into the microwave for 2 minutes.

IMG_2384

Obviously, I don’t let him stand in front of the microwave while it is running, but he wanted to help shut the door.  At this point, he had waited long enough (i.e. 5 minutes) and started to get really impatient.  Luckily, 2 minutes passes fast.

He was very pleased and gratified to finally receive his cake.  After that…all I heard was, “Mmmmm, cake.  Mmmmm, cake.”

IMG_2387IMG_2386

I dumped his out into a bowl got him some milk, cause c’mon, you can’t have chocolate cake without milk.  Then the mug was available to make MOMMY some cake.

IMG_2385

Leave a Reply

